Close Menu
Tampa Injury Lawyer > Lakeland Car Accident Lawyer > Lakeland Uninsured Motorist Lawyer

Lakeland Uninsured Motorist Lawyer 

All US states require motorists to carry certain minimum amounts of auto insurance, and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) imposes serious penalties for noncompliance. However, there are some drivers who disregard the laws and drive without insurance coverage. If you’re hurt in an accident involving an uninsured motorist, you understandably have concerns about your legal remedies. Any sanctions handed down by FLHSMV will do nothing to compensate you for your losses, which can be considerable.

When filing a claim with the responsible driver’s insurance company is not an option, there are other strategies for seeking monetary damages under Florida law. Because the process can be more complicated, it’s wise to retain skilled legal counsel for assistance. At The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group, our team is prepared to fight for your rights, so please contact our office today. We can schedule a complimentary consultation with a Lakeland uninsured motorist lawyer, though you might find it helpful to review some general information.

How Florida’s “No-Fault” Rules Apply

Instead of seeking compensation from the responsible driver, Florida’s no-fault rules require you to file a claim with your insurance company in any car accident. You don’t have to prove that the other motorist was negligent, because you can recover compensation under the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provisions of your own policy.

Only 10 states follow this no-fault rule, but it serves to your benefit in a crash involving an uninsured motorist. Because you pay premiums for PIP coverage, you know that the funds are there to cover your losses.

Legal Options for Recovering Monetary Damages

When you file forms with your own insurance company, you open up a first-party claim. This is because you’re in a direct contractual relationship with your insurer, as opposed to a situation where you’d seek compensation through a third-party claim with another driver’s insurance company. Under your PIP coverage, you’re entitled to payment for your rightful claim after a collision with an uninsured motorist. You must seek medical treatment within 14 days after the crash, but you may be eligible to receive:

  • Up to 80 percent of your medical costs for surgery, hospitalization, post-accident treatment, and other care;
  • Up to 60 percent of your lost wages; and,
  • Death benefits, for surviving family members who lost a loved one.

The process is not always easy, however, as insurers can still try to find loopholes or other reasons to not pay. In some situations, their tactics may amount to bad faith insurance. The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group will protect your rights if your insurance company isn’t upholding its end of the bargain.

Call Now to Speak to a Lakeland Uninsured Motorist Attorney 

For more information on your legal options as the victim of an uninsured driver accident, please contact The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group to speak to a member of our team. You can call 863-285-3746 or complete a contact form to set up a no-cost case evaluation with an experienced lawyer. Once we review your circumstances, we can get started on a strategy for enforcing your rights.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Text Us
Skip to content